Members of the iia receive AAMI Honors Awards

The Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI) has announced the recipients of their 2024 awards, presented at their AAMI/FDA neXus conference. These accolades recognise individuals who have made substantial contributions to advancing the science, ensuring the safety and efficacy of medical devices, and promoting optimal patient care outcomes.

Among the honourees, Brian McEvoy, PhD, is the inaugural recipient of the ‘Sterilization Science Award’ which has been established to honor those who have demonstrated remarkable contributions to the science and application of healthcare sterilization, sterility assurance, and contamination control.

Having been in the industry for over 23 years, Dr McEvoy serves as the Senior Director of Global Technologies at STERIS Applied Sterilization Technologies and is celebrated as a passionate researcher and well respected colleague to those that work alongside him. Brian’s role extends beyond his work with STERIS, as he enthusiastically engages in initiatives led by the iia. Most notably, he is the Chair of the IMRP 2024 Program Committee, exemplifying his commitment to advancing the safe and beneficial application of irradiation.

Alpa N. Patel, Director of Scientific Improvement at Nelson Laboratories, a member of iia, received the ‘Standards Developer Award’ in recognition of her contribution to the development of ASTM, AATB and ISO standards.

The iia would like to congratulate all the award winners and thanks them for their commitment and contributions.  Further details are available at this link to the AAMI news item: AAMI Honors Standards Developers, Committees, and Sterilization Professionals

Sign up to receive our newsletter