Latest news and updates.


16 October 2017

NUTECH 2017 – Report

The International Conference on Developments and Applications of Nuclear Technologies – NUTECH 2017 was held from September 10-13th in Krakow, Poland. Approximately 100 participants from 28 countries attended the conference that was as organized the Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology in Warsaw and the GH University of Science and Technology. The main goal of the Conference was to bring together scientists working on nuclear technologies to discuss recent developments and applications. The Conference also aimed to challenge the opinions of scientists and key representatives of national and international regulatory bodies when dealing with nuclear technology and to plan further research and applications in this field.

The International Irradiation Association supported the awards program and represented on the award committee. Professor Andrzej Chmielewski of the Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology is a member of the iia board. Dr. Gustavo Varca, who represents iia at an operational level, gave a presentation about iia at the Conference.

The award committee was composed by prof. Andrzej Chmielewski (Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology – INCT, Poland), Prof. Marek Lankosz (AGH University, Poland), Dr. Gustavo Varca (iia, Brazil) and Dr. Sunil Sabharwal (International Atomic Energy Agency- IAEA, Vienna).

A book of abstracts will soon be available on the conference webpage and accessible via this link – Book of Abstracts. Meanwhile, more information regarding the award recipients and their works may be available to iia members upon request. The award recipients were:

In the category of best poster award:
• Krzysztof Maternicki – Optically stimulated luminescence (OSL) leader „HELIOS” made in Poland, Akademia im. Jana Długosza w Częstochowie, Poland.
• Marta Wójcik – Electron beam for preservation of water-damaged paper, Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology, Poland.
• Ewa Glimos – NAA and XRF study of archaeological bronzes, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland.

In the category of best oral presentation:
• Ewa Zwolińska – The removal of NOx and SO2 from exhaust gases using a hybrid electron beam, Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology, Poland.
• Turki S. Alkhuraiji – Destruction of amphetamine in aqueous solution using gamma irradiation, National center for irradiation technology, Saudi Arabia.
• Paweł Wróbel – X-ray fluorescence analysis of changes of chemical composition of the ovarian cancer tissues, Akademia Górnicz-Hutnicza im. Stanisława Staszica, Poland.

In recognition to the advancement of the science of ionizing radiation:
• Dorota Gajda – Pre-treatment of radioactive waste using destructive processe sof organic compounds followed by concentration of radionuclides, Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology, Poland.
• Marcin Sudlitz – Irradiation of wastewater from solvay process, Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology, Poland.
• S. Skiba – Formation of poymerization retarders via high-temperature radiolysis of lignin, Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry, Russia.